Interviews·Music

Zahariya : La prof’ qui rêvait de chanter / The teacher who dreamed of singing

14519880_10154659205282048_1246781052189635031_n

Sitting around the table with her cup of tea, Zahariya is laughing and chatting as if she was with friends. In fact she has a lot of stories to tell: this 39-year-old independent singer was born in the Paris suburb, and followed her husband to Northern France in 2003. But she has a double life: she is also an English teacher.

In December, Zahariya will release her new multi-influences album Fairy on a Cloud, after successful crowdfunding. 10 years have passed since her first opus Correspondances, and with them many changes. “I always say that if you want to write and tell stories, you have to live. So I lived,” she says with a smile. “I met many people, I moved, I started a new life in a new place.”

She classifies Fairy on a Cloud as “alternative soul” for people to be more comfortable with her style. “My music is a mix of so many things. The only common point in everything I do is the fact that it comes from my soul.” She describes it as an album with live music and personal feelings she wanted to share, while going to new unexplored areas, trying to put “weird sounds” and “a lot of magic” in it.

Her art allows her to spread messages of peace, respect and tolerance to her audience. “Don’t we have the same heart, the same blood, the same tears, the same time to spend on Earth? So what’s the point of wishing each other harm? And make hatred settle,” she sings in Fairy on a Cloud. “When I get on a stage, I have the feeling that it’s not me anymore and that I can express things that I have inside. I try to change things at my level.“

For her, music has always been a family tradition. “My bigger brother is a singer. I was singing but only secretly,” she laughs. “When I was 20, he had a problem with a background singer and someone told him that I was singing, so he asked me to come for a show.”

Originally from the Comoros, she spent her life in France, studied American literature, and is then not missing influences. From Sade, Queen and Sting, to her parents’ records of African and hip-hop music,  everything prepared her to become an artist, and finally to take the stage alone. But it all started in a theatre group at school. “Theatre was a great thing for me as I was very shy when I was younger, but it wasn’t my words. I was in another one’s body and I wasn’t telling my stories,” she explains.

Casually stirring in her tea, she recalls her first hip-hop album Correspondances in 2006. She challenged herself by singing in French, at a time when English was a more popular language for singers, and still is. It was about showing the beauty of the French language, in which you can write equally fascinating stories about life.

Some of her songs even featured well-known hip-hop artists. “These artists grew up in the Paris suburb, which is a quite hard place to grow up in, so they were like living books.” This was a daydream for Zahariya. As a child, she used to be a fan of famous French singers like Diam’s or Kery James. Later she was lucky enough to record songs with them, and learn about their stories. She then recalls a recent concert where Iam and Assassin, among others, were present. “It was very impressive. All these artists meant a lot to me, and then we were on the same stage, they were saying hello to me.”

As the conversation goes on about the music industry, Zahariya admits that for her crowdfunding is a necessity as making music also involves paying everyone who is giving his/her time for it, from musicians to engineers. “Music has a cost, and people should understand that it’s not because we love to steal money from them,” she explains. “Even if it’s passion you have to live. And I think people should take part in the art process because they can realise how hard it is and understand why music shouldn’t be given free.”

She finishes her cup of tea and laughs when she was asked which of her two careers she would choose. “I would love to have 48-hour days so I have time to make more things because one thing is not enough for me. But if I had to choose, I would only sing. I’m a teacher because I think it’s a good way to change the world, and I’m singing for the same reason.”

To know more about Zahariya and to support her projects, click here.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

970691_10151610894417048_1975117812_n

Assise autour de la table avec sa tasse de thé, Zahariya rit et bavarde déjà comme si elle était avec des amis. En fait, elle a beaucoup d’histoires à raconter : cette chanteuse indépendante de 39 ans est née dans la banlieue parisienne, et a suivi son mari dans le nord de la France en 2003. Mais elle mène une double vie : elle est aussi professeur d’Anglais.

En mai, Zahariya sortira son nouvel album Fairy on a Cloud, un grand mélange d’influences, après un financement participatif réussi. 10 ans ont passé depuis son premier opus Correspondances, et avec eux beaucoup de changement. “Je dis toujours que si on veut écrire et raconter des histoires, il faut vivre. Alors j’ai vécu,” dit-elle avec un sourire. “J’ai rencontré beaucoup de gens, j’ai bougé, j’ai commencé une nouvelle vie dans une nouvelle ville.”

Elle décrit Fairy on a Cloud comme un album “d’alternative soul” pour que le public soit plus à l’aise avec son style. “Ma musique est un mélange de tellement de choses. Le seul point commun entre tout ce que je fais est que cela vient de mon âme.” Elle annonce un album avec plus de musique “live” et de sentiments personnels qu’elle voulait partager, tout en allant vers des territoires inexplorés, en essayant d’y incorporer des “sons étranges” et “beaucoup de magie”.

Son art lui permet de véhiculer des messages de paix, de respect et de tolérance au public. Elle chante d’ailleurs : “N’a-t-on pas le même cœur / Le même sang / Les mêmes pleurs / Le même temps à passer sur terre? / Alors à quoi ça sert / De se vouloir du mal? / Et que la haine s’installe”. “Quand j’entre sur scène, j’ai l’impression que ce n’est plus vraiment moi et que je peux exprimer tout ce que j’ai à l’intérieur de moi. J’essaie de changer les choses à mon niveau.”

Pour elle, la musique a toujours été une tradition familiale. “Mon grand frère est chanteur. Je chantais mais seulement en secret,” rit-elle. “Quand j’avais 20 ans, il a eu un problème avec une de ses choristes et quelqu’un lui a dit que je chantais, alors il m’a demandé de venir pour un concert.”

Originaire des Comores, Zahariya a passé sa vie en France, a étudié la littérature américaine, et ne manque pas non plus d’influences musicales. De Sade, Queen et Sting aux disques de musiques africaines et hip-hop qui étaient chez ses parents, tout la préparait à devenir artiste, et finalement à entrer seule en scène. Mais elle explique que tout a commencé dans une troupe de théâtre à l’école. “Le théâtre était une bonne chose pour moi car j’étais très timide quand j’étais plus jeune, mais ce n’était pas mes mots. J’étais dans le corps de quelqu’un d’autre et je ne racontais pas mes propres histoires.”

Touillant tranquillement dans son thé, elle se rappelle de son premier album hip-hop Correspondances en 2006. Elle s’était lancé le défi de chanter en français, alors que l’anglais était une langue plus populaire et appréciée des chanteurs, et l’est toujours un peu restée aujourd’hui. Le défi lui a servi à montrer la beauté de la langue français, dans laquelle on peut écrire et raconter des histoires toutes aussi fascinantes sur la vie.

De célèbres artistes de rap ont même participé à certaines de ses chansons à l’époque. “Ces artistes ont grandit dans la banlieue parisienne, qui est un endroit assez difficile, alors ils avaient plein d’histoires à raconter.” C’était un rêve éveillé pour Zahariya. Adolescente, elle était fan de certains de ces chanteurs comme Diam’s et Kery James. Et plus tard, elle était assez chanceuse pour enregistrer des chansons avec eux, et apprendre à les connaître. Elle se souvient alors d’un concert où étaient présents, entre autres, Iam et Assassin. “C’était très impressionnant. J’adorais vraiment tous ces artistes, et là nous étions sur la même scène, et ils me disaient bonjour.”

Alors que la conversation continue sur l’industrie de la musique, Zahariya admet que, pour elle, le financement participatif est une nécessité car créer de la musique implique aussi de payer tous ceux qui y consacrent leur temps, des musiciens aux ingénieurs du son. “La musique a un coût, et les gens devraient comprendre que ce n’est pas parce que l’on adore leur voler de l’argent,” dit-elle. “Même si c’est une passion, on doit vivre. Et je pense que les gens devraient prendre part au processus de création artistique car ils pourraient réaliser combien c’est difficile et comprendre pourquoi la musique ne devraient pas être donnée gratuitement.”

Elle termine sa tasse de thé et rit quand elle doit décider laquelle de ses deux carrières elle choisirait. “J’aimerais avoir des jours de 48 heures pour avoir le temps de faire plus de choses parce qu’une seule chose ce n’est pas assez pour moi. Mais si je devais choisir, je chanterais. Je suis professeur parce que je pense que c’est une bonne manière de changer le monde, et je chante pour la même raison.”

Pour en savoir plus sur Zahariya et soutenir ses projets, cliquez ici.

 

Laisser un commentaire

